Skip to content

Wygant honored with ‘Freedom From Selfishness’ philanthropy award

December 5, 2022

ASHLAND – The Women’s Fund Steering Committee of Ashland County Community Foundation has named Norma Wygant the 2022 recipient of the “Dr. Lucille G. Ford ‘Freedom from Selfishness’ Award.”

Named for Ashland County Community Foundation’s founding president, Dr. Lucille Ford, this annual award recognizes women who have shown a long-standing commitment to philanthropy in Ashland County. Each award recipient has given time, talent or resources to improve the lives of others and the community as a whole.

Wygant has served on numerous boards in our community including the Samaritan Hospital Board of Trustees, the Samaritan Hospital Foundation Board, Ashland Red Cross Board, United Way Board, Ashland Garden Study Club, Ashland City Tree Commission and Ashland College Faculty Women’s Club. She is also a longtime member of the First Presbyterian Church of Ashland.

She and her husband, Lloyd, have provided generous funding for various community projects including a new pavilion at Brookside Golf Course; a welcoming arch over Main Street in downtown Ashland; the Keith Wygant Memorial Field House at Ashland High School; a new entrance, concession stand, and restrooms for Community Stadium and K-9 Unit training for local law enforcement officers.

“Norma is a woman of integrity, vision, and compassion and is a blessing to our community,” said Connie Marble, who serves on the Women’s Fund Steering Committee and also nominated Wygant for the award. “She has truly made Ashland a better place to work and live, not only for all of us, but for all the generations that follow.”

Ford’s daughter, Dr. JoAnn Ford Watson, presented the award and read remarks from her mother congratulating Wygant on the “well-deserved honor.”

“You have imprinted your heart of love on all you have touched,” Ford Watson said on behalf of her mother. “Thank you for your great friendship to Ashland.”

Past award recipients include Nancy T. Davis (2014), Janet L. Archer (2015), Nancy E. Kopp (2016), Ann J. Miller (2017), Dr. JoAnn Ford Watson (2018), Diana S. Brechbuhler (2019), Dr. Julia Wright (2020) and Lori Gottfried (2021).

About the Women’s Fund: The Women’s Fund is a permanently endowed fund held at Ashland County Community Foundation and managed by the Women’s Fund Steering Committee. The fund was established in 2004 to create a permanent legacy that enhances the lives of women in Ashland County. Annual fund distributions are used to make grants and provide scholarships that build community among women, promote women’s advancement and strengthen Ashland County women.

About Ashland County Community Foundation: Ashland County Community Foundation advances philanthropy and improves the quality of life in Ashland County by connecting people who care with causes that matter. ACCF has awarded over $22 million in scholarships, grants and distributions.