Skip to content

Freedom From Selfishness Award

Freedom From Selfishness Award

The Dr. Lucille G. Ford “Freedom from Selfishness” Award was established in 2013 by The Women’s Fund of Ashland County Community Foundation in honor of ACCF’s founding president Dr. Lucille G. Ford.

Ford defines philanthropy as “freedom from selfishness,” and she has exemplified that definition throughout her life.

This annual award recognizes Ashland County women who, like Ford, demonstrate a long-standing commitment to philanthropy. Each award recipient has given time, talent or resources to improve the lives of others and the Ashland County community as a whole.

We recognize each year’s recipient by presenting her with an award at an ACCF event in the fall.

Nominees must be current residents of Ashland County and must have lived in the county for at least the past 20 years. Award recipients are selected by a committee of the Women’s Fund of Richland County Foundation.

Past award recipients include Nancy T. Davis (2014), Janet L. Archer (2015), Nancy E. Kopp (2016), Ann J. Miller (2017), Dr. JoAnn Ford Watson (2018), Diana S. Brechbuhler (2019), Dr. Julia Wright (2020), Lori Gottfried (2021) and Norma Wygant (2022).

Mindy Howman

Office Administrator

Click here to contact Mindy about your nomination.